Half Life 2, episode 2

This post will contain spoilers.

I’m now completely done with the Half Life series! And I now understand why so many people want more Half Life and/or Portal games. They need to come together. We must find out the link between the two. I got so excited when they mentioned Aperture Laboratories near the end of episode two. I’ve mentioned it before but the Portal games are what really got me into gaming in the first place so they are very special to me.

Episode two was really great. I liked it more than episode one, even though I really missed having the supercharged grav gun. It was also much more of an emotional rollercoaster, which I consider a good thing. From when Alyx almost got killed and when her father Eli did get killed, I was pretty sad.

One of my favorite parts was going into the antlion nest with the vortigaunt to get materials that could save Alyx’s life. For one, it seemed very important to save her. I also loved the way it looked, with the creepy burrows and glowing grubs.

The final battle was also a lot of fun, fighting stryders with the Magnusson devices. I had to use the grav gun to shoot them at the stryders, where they would stick and then I’d have to shoot them to detonate them. Very challenging but also a lot of fun.

Overall, I had more fun playing this episode than the first one. And I need more!

 

 

Leave a Reply

