Update

Oops! It’s been a while since I’ve posted. Part of the reason is I’ve been quite busy and haven’t had much time to play.  Another reason is that I’ve had trouble deciding what can even follow Mass Effect 3.

I was busy visiting my grandparents in Idaho, so there wasn’t much opportunity for gaming there besides my 3DS and Animal Crossing: New Leaf!

And when I got back from that I went to IndieCade, an independent games convention that was happening not too far from where I live. I was excited to go and meet the woman who founded a blog that I’ve contributed to a few times. She was very cool, and so was the conference. Nobody had any assumptions about why I was there. People would ask me if I was a developer. I felt very welcome and there were all kinds of cool indie game demos to try out. It gives me hope for a future where everybody is welcome in gaming and more people can be represented in games. As I’ve written about before, representation is very important.

The whole experience made me more interested in the possibility of developing games, but I’m still just so intimidated and have no idea where to start. I’m at least so happy that I know this event did inspire others to become developers. I think I’m better off showing my support by buying and playing more indie games. I already have quite a few that I got as part of Humble Bundles and such; perhaps it’s time to actually play them.

I’ve started playing Life is Strange, so I’ll be writing about that. This is just about the first time I’ve been able to play a big game close to the time it actually came out, so that’s kind of exciting. I’ll be writing more soon! Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

