Mass Effect 2: My least favorite and favorite moments

I just finished playing Mass Effect 2 a couple of days ago. I really loved the ending. It was very satisfying and ended in a good spot, but still with the feeling there was more to do. I wanted to share some of my favorite and least favorite moments of the game. Here we go!

First, I’ll start with the negatives.

1. Forced Romance:

I accidentally had a fling with Kaidan in the first Mass Effect game, which is fine. I just hadn’t realized I was flirting with him at first and things got a little out of hand. It wasn’t a big deal to me though. In Mass Effect 2, Kaidan shows up again for a bit and tried to make me feel guilty about working for Cerberus and says something about “what we had”. He tried to make it sound like there was a relationship even though I just considered it a one night stand, and a virtual rebound for a  very bad breakup I had just gone through in real life.

Later on, right before the suicide mission, my Shepard was gazing at a photo of Kaidan. Given how I feel about our nonexistent relationship it didn’t make sense and just made me confused, not sad or nostalgic or anything.

I still have the option of starting a relationship with Garrus, and maybe I will just so I won’t have to deal with the Kaidan stuff anymore. However, given the aforementioned bad and real breakup, I don’t want any relationship even if it’s an in game one.

This is something I didn’t like from the first game, but I’m not a fan of how easy it was to get into a relationship with Kaidan. I didn’t even realize that I was flirting, I just thought I was being friendly. This is a problem I’ve had in real life too, when guys think I’m flirting when I’m just trying to be friendly.

2. Forced Choices:

There were times when I only made certain choices because I knew it would get me paragon points. At one point in the game I lost Miranda’s loyalty, and I had to get more paragon points to earn it back. At one point, I did something I would normally refuse to do just because I needed more paragon points. I convinced an asari not to break up with her krogan boyfriend. I wouldn’t do this in real life, because I don’t know either of them and it’s none of my business. I also didn’t like how convincing her to stay with him is paragon and breaking up is renegade. Staying together is not always a good thing and breaking up is not always a bad thing! Again, I knew nothing of there relationship and maybe she had good reasons for wanting to end it.

Now, to end on a better note, I want to share some of my favorite moments!

1. The time I headbutted a krogan:

2. The time Mordin sang for me:

3. The time Garrus complimented me:

(None of these videos are mine, I found them all on youtube.)

I know there were many more, but these are the ones that come to mind at the moment.

One last thing! These were my final stats:

2015-05-27_00001

5 thoughts on “Mass Effect 2: My least favorite and favorite moments”

    1. Haha I might also get with Garrus for the achievement. Kaidan didn’t make me feel bad, I was more annoyed. I was like “we slept together once and it didn’t mean anything and it’s been 2 years. Why are you acting like we have a relationship.” It seemed really clingy. Of course, I probably wouldn’t have minded as much if it weren’t for my personal reasons of a bad breakup. It was back at the end of January, but it was that bad that I’m still bitter about it!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Relationships can be a hard thing to deal with, especially when they end bad. I know the feeling, it’s something no more be should have to experience. Like any other experience though, this will help you grow into the person that you should be. Just keep your head up, good things will come.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thank you 🙂 I know I have grown and changed a lot because of it, and I do like most of the changes. And the ones I don’t like, such as me being less trusting and more bitter, will fade with time. I’ll be okay, I just need some time.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

