Mass Effect 2, part 10

This post will contain spoilers!

I was planning to play a short session today and finish up my business on Tuchanka. I still had Mordin’s loyalty quest to do. Since I already finished Grunt’s loyalty mission, walking around Tuchanka was fun because I would hear all the krogan gossiping about us and how we took down the thresher maw.

The lovely planet of Tuchanka.
The lovely planet of Tuchanka.

I started Mordin’s mission and finished it pretty quickly. There were some hard decisions to make though. I kept Mordin from killing his former student, but I encouraged him to take the data on curing the krogan’s genophage. Even though the data was obtained through bad ways, that doesn’t mean it won’t be useful somehow. It already happened, so at least maybe some good might come from it. I didn’t tell Mordin to use it, but in case we decide to use it we’ll have it. I’m not sure what will happen if we do cure the krogan, but it also seems wrong to let them die off. This is a really tough decision!

Mordin's former student, Maelon. We thought we had to rescue him from some krogan, but he was helping them willingly.
Mordin’s former student, Maelon. We thought we had to rescue him from some krogan, but he was helping them willingly.

After Mordin’s mission, I returned to the Normandy where I’m told that the Illusive Man wants to talk to me. I was thinking it would just be a short debriefing, but instead I ended up doing another whole mission. Who needs to sleep anyway?

We were sent to a supposedly abandoned Collector ship. I brought Mordin and Garrus with me. The ship was so creepy! Everything looked kind of organic and insect-like. It reminded me of some parts of Dragon Age, except to me Dragon Age looked even worse with the lumps of slimy flesh-like tumors.

2015-03-23_00012

I was so jumpy and expecting enemies at every turn. Along the way, we figured out that the Collectors used to be Protheans that the Collectors had enslaved and modified! I finally ran into some enemies when we made it to the center of the ship and connected the Normandy to the Collector ship. It was a trap! Finally some enemies showed up, including the Harbinger. We took them all out pretty easily, but we still had to make it back to the Normandy.

There were more fights along the way, which mostly weren’t too bad. I had to try twice to get past when a Praetorian showed up. I hate those things so much!

At last we made it back to the ship, and I confronted the Illusive Man. As much as I dislike the guy, he seems to know what he’s doing. I will keep working with him for now, because otherwise I don’t see how I could do anything about the Collectors.

Now I’m being told I have to find the IFF relay, but I’m holding off on that for now. I still need to recruit Tali and someone else I don’t know about yet. Next time, I plan to go and recruit Tali as well as complete loyalty missions for Thane, Samara, Jacob, Jack, and Garrus. Wow, that actually sounds like a lot! I was feeling like I was getting close to the end of the game, but there’s still a lot for me to do. I guess those will make up the next several parts of my Mass Effect 2 posts.

The team so far.
The team so far.

Also, here are my current stats.

2015-03-23_00015

4 thoughts on “Mass Effect 2, part 10”

  1. I’m glad I ain’t the only one who gets jumpy in non horror games lol. The loyalty missions usually don’t take long to complete, but its highly important that you do them.

    Besides that, it usually gives more backstory into that team member which is great too see.

    Like

    1. Haha I am always so jumpy when I play games. I don’t even know if I can handle a game that actually is supposed to make you jumpy. I have half-life and bioshock to play still and I honestly don’t know if I can do them.

      I really want to find out more about the other characters so I’m really excited for all the loyalty missions.

      Like

Leave a Reply

