Dragon Age DLC: Awakenings, part 3

This post will contain spoilers.

I ended up not exploring Blackmarsh much more, because the only thing left to do there was fight a dragon. I didn’t feel up to it, so I continued on with the rest of the story.

Awakenings has been quite different from the main game. There are a lot more politics to deal with, and I have no idea if I’m making good choices or not. I have been spending quite a bit of time and money on making sure Vigil’s Keep has strong walls, explosives, weapons, and armor.

I was in the Wending Wood a lot, finishing up as many quests as I could do there. A lot of these ended up being things like finding all the statues or pieces of silk.

After that I ventured into the Silverite mine with Oghren, Anders, and Justice. We were all taken prisoner, but freed by an elf. We had to fight our way out and reclaim the armor and weapons that had been taken from us. As has been the trend so far, none of the fights were difficult at all. I don’t even think anyone was injured the whole time, even when we didn’t have our usual armor or weapons.

Once we got out of the Silverite mine, we dealt with another elf, named Velanna, who had been destroying any caravans that went through the Wending Woods. We convinced her that the humans were not killing the elves. It had actually been darkspawn, tricking the elves into thinking that humans were killing them. She has also now joined our party! She’s a powerful mage, but dressed really unfortunately in my opinion. I want to keep her clothes though, because they give her a +1 to every stat. Anders has also been really gross to her, but at least she gives him a hard time right back. I alternate between liking Anders and disliking him, and this time I really disliked him.

I then moved on to the Knotwood Hills with Justice, Anders, and Velanna, where I gained another potential party member! We saved Sigrun the dwarf from being dragged off by darkspawn and turned into a Broodmother. The whole Broodmother thing is so disturbing to me, and I was glad to save her! Unfortunately she is a rogue, and my PC is already a rogue and I don’t need two of them. I continued on with Justice, Anders, and Velanna, and I think we are on our way to destroying some Broodmothers!

Leave a Reply

