Dragon Age, part 8

This post will contain spoilers.

I confronted Loghain and because I had gotten so many people on my side, Alistair is to become the king. He and Anora are supposed to get married. I feel bad that they don’t want to, but I think it’s the best way to keep the peace. The battle against Loghain was difficult, because I didn’t want to use Alistair, Morrigan, or Wynne and my player character is a rogue. It took me 3 tries, which was very annoying because the game saves right before all the dialog about who is siding with who so I had to keep going through that before I could try dueling Loghain again. I finally beat him when I had enough time to summon my great bear. It didn’t seem particularly honorable, but it’s what I had to do. I then chose to kill Loghain, because I didn’t want to lose Alistair and I don’t really care if Anora likes me or not. It is deeply messed up though that I had to kill him in front of his daughter.

I did a brief sidequest for Wynne to find her old student who ran away from her when she was too harsh on him. She likes me more now, and confessed to me that she is actually dead and is only being kept alive with the help of a benevolent spirit from the Fade! She is really a very fascinating character.

Morrigan is also very interesting. I was finally told what happens to Grey Wardens when they slay the Archdemon. The night before I started the battle in Denerim, she came to me and told me there is a way to make sure no one dies. She told me if I got her pregnant, they Archdemon’s essence would become part of that baby and it would grow into an Old God or something. No one would have to die. Even though the whole thing made me deeply uncomfortable, I went with it. The scene was hilarious. My PC had the glow that happens when he’s using the Song of Courage, and my partner and I were joking about how of course you would need that to be brave enough to have sex with Morrigan. I find her a fascinating character too, but not very likeable.

I then started battling in Denerim. At this point, many of my party members can take out enemies in one hit which is quite satisfying! I stopped playing a little way into the battle. My next step is to track down the Archdemon’s generals and take them out. I’m looking forward to it!

2 thoughts on “Dragon Age, part 8”

  1. Morrigan has always been my favorite character of the game. When I first played I didn’t like her, but she grew on me. Also enjoy the last part of the game. The last battle can be kind of hard at times, according to how you do it. Good luck, you may need it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks! I think I will enjoy it. But I probably won’t have the chance to play for a while unfortunately! I think I don’t like Morrigan because she always seems to disapprove of the choices I make even when the other choice is horrible. I got sick of her constant disapproval

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

