Dragon Age, part 5

As always, this post will contain spoilers. It’s also going to be short, because while I finished a major quest I actually started it well before I started this blog. As a result, I only played the last little bit of it.

I finished the quest to save Arl Eamon In Redcliffe castle. In this quest, an assassin blood mage named Jowan has tried to poison Arl Eamon, who is in a coma. Arl Eamon’s son Connor has also been possessed by a demon supposedly summoned by Jowan. I had already defended Redcliffe village from monsters, and killed every enemy in and around the castle. All I had to do now was figure out how to save Arl Eamon, his wife, and his child.

I have been trying very hard not to look up how to finish quests with the best possible outcome, and I didn’t do that for this quest. However, I was able to end up getting the best possible outcome. The reason I started this quest months ago and only finished it now was on a suggestion from my partner. I realize now it was because getting mages from the Circle Tower to help you was the only way to save the whole family. I had no idea until now, and I’m glad he helped me with that without spoiling anything!

In order to save whole family, I got help from a group of mages. My other options were to kill the child or allow Jowan to use blood magic to save the child, but killing his mother in the process. I did get help, and they sent me into the Fade again. I chose to go to the Fade as Wynne, because I thought she would be the most effective. I don’t know if that’s true, but she pulled off the mission easily. It was almost too easy, and the final fight was more tedious than difficult.

I spent the rest of my play time running around and finishing up sidequests. I guess I did enough sidequests that earned me money to unlock the Mercenary achievement. I also spent some time talking to the others at the party camp, and unlocked some companion quests. I unlocked Sten’s, but due to a bug I couldn’t finish it. I don’t mind too much though, because playing with Sten in the party reminded me of how much I dislike him. He kept bothering Wynne about how she’s not a proper woman because she’s going to war and generally being a sexist jerk.

Next I tried Morrigan’s quest, and I really hope she doesn’t find out I didn’t actually kill Flemeth. After hearing what she does in order to keep on living I wanted to, but I could tell I wasn’t going to win that fight. So I ended up getting her grimoire anyway and giving it to Morrigan, who likes me considerably more now.

I plan to keep finishing up little sidquests, because I want to do as much as possible before I get to the end of the game.

4 thoughts on “Dragon Age, part 5”

      1. Naw you ain’t gotta go back and do it if ya don’t want to. See that’s the magic of RPGs, especially Dragon Age. You make your own choices, based on what you think and feel is right.

        Like

Leave a Reply

