Dragon Age, part 4

As always, this post may contain spoilers.

I know I said I would post on Sunday, but I ended up playing until late into the night and was too tired to write. I also had a very long day at work, so I didn’t have time to write this post until now.

I was able to complete the Fade quest. I was surprised at how long it took, even though it was not particularly challenging. Taking on the different forms was very fun. My favorite was the golem form, so I could run around smashing doors and enemies. However, I will say that all the battles within the Fade were disappointingly easy. I defeated each boss, and each time thought “was that it?” I was happy to reunite with Morrigan, Alistair, and Wynne for the final battle in the Fade. I missed hearing their banter in the background! Once that was done, we went back to the real world!

Once there, we had to make our way to Uldred, who started the corruption of the Mage’s tower. That was pretty straightforward too. We only had to fight some drakes and dragonlings. Then we reached Uldred at last. He gave a rather villainous speech, and revealed his true form as a giant demon. While I felt that the battles in the Fade were too easy, this one was too hard! I think it took me about 20 tries to finally beat. I don’t know how many exactly because I lost count, but I do know I was trying for about an hour. I have an unfortunate tendency of ragequitting when I get frustrated, but I kept trying because I wanted to finish the quest and I wasn’t sure when I would have the chance to play next.

With enough tries, I finally mastered how to keep an eye on everyone’s health and stamina/mana so that only my PC Oberon and his summoned bear died, while Alistair kept smashing away at Uldred. Morrigan and Wynne stayed back and kept casting spells to attack Uldred and heal Alistair. I also had to master switching to Wynne so she could use the Litany of Adralla to keep Uldred from raising the slain mages as more demons to fight. As a result, I managed to save Irving. This was definitely that hardest battle I’ve fought in this game so far.

After defeating Uldred, I emerged from the tower with Irving and I now have the mages as allies for the final battle. I had a little more time to play, so I mostly just finished up a couple of little sidequests in Denerim. I’m satisfied with the progress I made last night!

Leave a Reply

