Pokemon Soul Silver, part 1

I managed to find Soul Silver at a used game store for only $40. Compared to the prices I saw online for it, I think I got a great deal! I decided yesterday to get a Pokewalker too, so I found on online for about $25. I’ll have to get a new battery for it, but that’s not a big deal. I have to walk a lot for my job and I run at least 3 miles a week, so I’m hoping it will be worth it!

I have played Gold version before. Last summer, my partner dug up all his old games and Gameboys from his closet, including Gold version. We had to replace the internal batteries, which was tricky but we managed it. If any of you want to know how to do that, I can try to dig up the instructional video we found.  I remember Gold version enough that I know what to expect in Soul Silver.

Even though Soul Silver is familiar, it is still different enough that I don’t mind. There are updates that make it easier to play and the graphics are nicer. It still feels like a step down from Black version, but the fact that you can have your Pokemon follow you around makes up for it in my book! It’s so cute.

I have beaten the first gym. It’s the flying gym, and I caught a Mereep who easily took out all the birds. The rest of my team is only Totodile, Hoothoot, and the egg. Because you get Pokeballs so late, I didn’t start out catching very much right away. Also, I just haven’t found very many good Pokemon yet. I’m hoping that when my Pokewalker gets here, that will change!

One thought on “Pokemon Soul Silver, part 1”

  1. I have to confess that I think HeartGold/SoulSilver are, to this day, my favorite Pokemon games. ORAS may change that, but HGSS are just so fun! I may be biased because I love the Johto region (plus it’s hard not to love watching your Pokemon walk around with you) 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

