Backstory

My parents were pretty strict with me when I was growing up. I wasn’t really allowed to watch much TV or play any video games. Their reasoning was that TV and video games would make me stupid and violent. While I turned out neither of those, I don’t think that my playing or not playing video games had anything to do with that. Instead I learned to be sneaky and quick at switching the computer screen, and thinking back on it I still managed to play a lot! I still get jumpy though if I’m playing and someone walks in, even when I know it can’t be my parents.

It’s just that most of the games I did play were random, free things I found on the Internet. There was an RPG called Ahriman’s Prophecy that was a lot of fun, and an MMORPG called Eternal Lands that I still play occasionally. There was also Newgrounds and nitrome.com. This is why I’m going back now and trying to play a lot of big games that I missed while they were new. 

I do have a Steam account, and some games I have planned are Mass Effect 1 and 2, Half-Life 1 and 2, and Fallout 1, 3, and New Vegas. I have no idea when I’ll be able to play all of those, and I need to find a better computer to play them on than my current old laptop! I also just got a Nintendo DS lite, and right now all I have is Pokemon Black but a friend promised she’d give me her old copies of Animal Crossing and Nintendogs. I feel I may have bitten of more than I can chew! This is not going to be a short project. 

Leave a Reply

